Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ve been on the search for a great chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I’ve made plenty that were decent, but nothing really wowed me.  Lots of recipes claim to be the “yummiest”, “amazing”, or “the best”.  Only one so far has lived up to it’s name. 

Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies, from Dishing the Divine certainly looked and sounded pretty fantastic.  I was skeptical until I tried them out for myself though.  In a word?  WOW.  These are SO GOOD.  I love every little thing about them: the fact they are large, they are a bit crisp on the outside and still soft on the inside, the addition of sea salt (don’t skip the salt!  Don’t!) …I could go on and on.  Whenever I make them, I do a double batch — one is never enough.

I make them exactly as posted except for the chocolate.  The recipe says to chop your own chunks from a good quality bittersweet chocolate bar.  I made them once that way, and then every other time I’ve used the Guittard Bittersweet Chocolate Chips straight up from the grocery store.  It’s easier than chopping up your own chunks, the Bittersweet chocolate chips are bigger than your regular old chocolate chips, and honestly, I don’t taste much of a difference between the two methods. 

Image

So, here you have it…Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies from Dishing the Divine

2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
3/4 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 1/2 – 2 cups chopped bittersweet chocolate (Dishing the Divine note: do not use chocolate chips. Buy a good bar of chocolate and cut it into chunks. I toss all the chocolate including the shavings into the dough, but some people omit the shavings so that the dough is a more traditional pale color) *see note above: I just use Guittard Bittersweet Chocolate Chips*

flaked sea salt

 

Instructions

  1. Sift the flour, salt, and baking soda together and set aside.
  2. Mix the sugars and butter just until thoroughly mixed. Add the egg, yolk and vanilla and stir until creamy. Add the sifted ingredients and mix just until blended. Stir in the chocolate chips/chunks.
  3. Drop the dough 1/4 cup at a time on a wax paper lined plate and place in the freezer for 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 400.
  5. Place cookies on a greased or parchment lined baking sheet. Bake for 8 minutes. Without opening the oven, reduce the oven temperature to 350. Bake an additional 7-9 minutes or until the edges look golden brown.
  6. Remove from oven and immediately sprinkle with sea salt. Let rest on pan for 5 minutes and then transfer to a cooling rack.
Leave a Reply

