Funfetti Sandwich Cookies

I love sprinkles.  They are just so darn fun.  So anytime I see recipes that feature them, I have to check it out.  I came across this Funfetti Sandwich Cookie recipe on the blog Baked Perfection.  That blog is FULL of fantastic recipes, you should definitely go check it out.  (The chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting are especially wonderful!)  When I saw these adorable sprinkle-filled cookies I knew I had to make them.  I’m so glad I did!

These were really easy to make, and the ingredient list is pretty basic.  Who doesn’t have this stuff on hand?  I always do — thank Heavens!  The original recipe said it would make 24 sandwich cookies.  I must have made mine smaller because I got 36 or so.

 

 

Funfetti Sandwich Cookies
recipe by Baked Perfection

1 (18.25) package Funfetti Cake Mix
2 eggs
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Pour cake mix into a large bowl. Stir in eggs, oil, milk, and vanilla until combined. Drop teaspoons of dough onto an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake 7-9 minutes in the preheated oven. The bottoms will be light brown. Move cookies to a cooling rack, cool completely before assembling.
Very Vanilla Frosting
recipe by Baked Perfection
1 stick of butter, softened
3 cups powdered sugar
pinch of salt
1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons milk
Beat butter and vanilla until creamy. Add salt. Add powdered sugar 1 cup at a time, beating until combined. Add milk 1 tablespoon at a time until you reach desired consistency
Frost bottom side of half the cookies.  Top with unfrosted cookie.  Roll edges in assorted sprinkles.

Leave a comment